What to do in Chartres ?

Cultural Sites

Maison Blanche is located in the heart of Chartres, a guest house only a few minutes walk from the cathedral. This masterpiece of medieval architecture is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Notre-Dame de Chartres Cathedral is particularly renowned for its sculptural program: exterior portals, choir enclosure... The stained glass windows constitute the richest collection in Europe with some 2600 m² of sparkling glass panels whose emblematic blue color has taken the name of the city: the "blue of Chartres".
On the floor of the nave, be sure to observe and follow the labyrinth materialized by Berchères stone slabs and black marble strips. Visit also the crypts of the cathedral and go up to the top of the north tower, at 70 meters of altitude, to admire the spire and the exceptional panorama on the Beauce.
Opening hours:
Every day from 8:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.
20200609_100231.JPG
Chartres en Lumière

 Every year, Chartres is adorned with a thousand and one colors during a major event: "Chartres en Lumières". At nightfall, the cathedral and several other places in the city are dressed in lights, to the delight of visitors who, since 2003, come in ever greater numbers to admire this unique sound and light show.
Free event, every evening, between April 10 and January 15, 2021.
The "Festival of Light" : animations, street shows, artistic installations, exhibitions etc.

Que faire à Chartres ?

Sites culturels
 
Maison Blanche se situe au cœur de Chartres, une Maison d'
hôtes à quelques minutes à pieds seulement de la cathédrale. Ce chef-d’œuvre d’architecture médiévale est classé au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO.
La cathédrale Notre-Dame de Chartres est particulièrement réputée pour son programme sculpté : portails extérieurs, clôture du chœur… Les vitraux constituent quant à eux la plus riche collection d’Europe avec quelque 2600 m² de panneaux de verres étincelants et dont la couleur bleu emblématique a pris le nom de la ville : le « bleu de Chartres ».
Sur le sol de la nef, ne manquez pas d’observer et de suivre le labyrinthe matérialisé par des dalles de pierre de Berchères et des bandes de marbre noir. Visitez également les cryptes de la cathédrale et montez en haut de la tour nord, à 70 mètres d’altitude, pour admirer la flèche et le panorama exceptionnel sur la Beauce.
Horaires d’ouverture :
Tous les jours de 08 h 30 à 19 h 30
20200609_100231.JPG
Chartres en Lumière
 
Chaque année, Chartres se pare de mille et une couleurs lors d’un événement d’envergure : « Chartres en Lumières ». A la tombée de la nuit, la cathédrale et plusieurs autres lieux de la ville s’habillent de lumières, pour le plus grand bonheur des visiteurs qui, depuis 2003, viennent chaque année toujours plus nombreux pour admirer ce spectacle son et lumières inédit.
Manifestation gratuite, tous les soirs, entre les 10 avril jusqu'au 15 Janvier 2021.
« Fête de la Lumière » : animations, spectacles de rue, installations artistiques, expositions etc.